CUEA Talent Awards 2013/2014

  • Print


CUEA Talent Awards 2013/2014 took place on 13th March 2014, at the University cafeteria. The awards seek to recognize talent from outstanding clubs, faculties, students and student leaders in the University. Nescafe sponsored the event.

Mr. Gideon Maina, Dean of Students, congratulated the winners and asked them to receive the awards with a lot of humility. “This is an occasion where we

appreciate and reward talent particularly in the previous academic year. It is important to appreciate students,” said. Mr. Maina.

Prof. Justus Mbae, DVC Academics, thanked the organizers of the event and called upon all the students to uphold excellence in all that they do. “The greatest competition is not with other people but against yourself,” said Prof. Mbae. Also in attendance was the Deputy Dean of Students, Sr. Dr. Lucy Kimaru, CUEASO 2013/2014 Student officials and CUEA students.

Final List of the winners for the CUEA Talent Awards 2013/2014

Faculty of the year

a. Faculty of Commerce

Most active faculty rep

a. Mr. Brian Mutuku, Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences

b. Br. Benedict Kisio, Faculty of Commerce

Most outstanding clubs

a. Rotaract

b. Catholic University Social Workers Association (CUSWA)

c. Kenya Model United Nations (KMUN)

Most Active club officials

a. Ms.Valentine Ndhiho, Catholic University Social Workers Association (CUSWA)

b. Mr. Peter Moraya, Association for the International Exchange of Students in Economics and Commerce (AISEC)

Most improved club

a. Huria

Most active spiritual movement

a. Focolare

Most active spiritual movement official

a. Sr. Mary Anita, Young Catholic Students (YCS) official and chair overall spiritual movements.

b. Mr. Benson Mutua, Christian Union (CU) official


Sports team of the year

a. Rugby

Sports person of the year

a. Mr. Kabiero Geoffrey, Karate

b. Ms. Elizabeth Mbugua, Basketball

Most improved team

a. Ladies Volleyball team

b. Men Football team

Most discipline team

a. Basketball team

Student Entrepreneur of the year

a. Ms. Karen Musungu, Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences

b. Mr.Vincent Raballa, Faculty of Commerce

CUEA Ambassador of the year

a. Mr. Mugambi Muhavi, Faculty of Law

Appreciation Awards

a. Dean of Students office


c. CUEASO Committees (clubs, finance, academic affairs, sports, social welfare and spiritual movements)